The performing arts is a difficult career to pursue, especially financially.  Like most businesses very few people rake in a six figure salary, which now-a-days isn’t actually a lot of money.  Yes, the super stars in their genre aren’t hurting like the rest of us living check-to-check.  (I’m sure there’s a happy little non-AC liking person depositing his check right now!)  And I’m not saying I’m a starving artist.  Personally I work more weeks in a year as a stage manager than most stage managers I know.  Probably not saying a lot, but I digress.

It’s been five years, almost to the day, since I graduated from college.  And it’s only now that I’m realizing what my financial situation actually is:  CRAPTASTIC!  Of course, that is mostly because of decisions I have made along the way for bad or for worse.  Private College = Debt.  Career in the Performing Arts = DEbt.    Living in an Expensive City = DEBt.  Getting a Dog = DEBT.  None of those decisions I would have changed.  Going to a great school for theater gave me the connections and skills to pursue what I love.  I moved to Boston to be with the best person in the whole world.  And we got Oscar, the magnificent wienie pooch, who gives special up-the-nose kisses every day.

But now I’m just screwed.  I’ve got student loans, credit card debt, no savings, and a job at McDonald’s as my retirement plan.  I wish I could say that it is my career that has put me in this situation, but the truth is it’s not.  My entire generation is drowning in debt.  The current economic status of the US (and the world) has made it exponentially worse.  No financial institution wants to give out loans or think about helping someone like me.  And credit card companies want to raise APRs, lower credit lines, add fines and fees where you aren’t looking, and inject poison into wienie dogs.  It’s scary.  I read it on the huffington post.

How am I supposed to get a decent car loan?  Or buy a house some day?  Well I can’t right now.  I’ll continue to rent, which means throwing money away instead of putting it into a mortgage.  Every time I think I’m paying down my credit cards (I almost always pay more than my minimum payment), I have to fly to visit family/friends or buy presents for a wedding or Christmas, you know those things that make you a good person and not just a leech living on planet Earth throwing plastic bottles into the dumpster instead of recycling.  Frustrating, it’s just frustrating.

Luckily, I have a brother who is a financial planner who can help with trustworthy advice.  He’s awesome.  However, can someone tell me why I waited 5 whole years to ask for it?  Well, I’m ready to take control of my finances, but the end of the fiscal tunnel of doom is years away.  Thank goodness, I have a lot to be thankful for that is more important than money.  I have my health, my family, my wienie dog, my Ryan, my friends, my cocktails, my job, and a roof over my head (when it doesn’t shake).

Again, I’m not a starving artist, although if I was I could lose those extra 15 lbs.  But now I’m trying to think of ways to make extra income in my copious free time.  Maybe Oscar can get a part-time job.  If only he could baby-sit Shelby, instead of trying to eat her.  Ah well.
Picture
Oscar trying to get out of work.
Ann
5/6/2010 06:43:52 am

Yup, isn't the life of arts grand? Good for you for making a financial plan - I'm learning how to better stick to my budget.

Again, glad you're doing this blog, you seem to have a knack for writing things out well.

Tell Oscar I miss him. And to not eat Shelby.

Good luck on the finding extra income front!

Lauren MacLeod
5/6/2010 09:28:45 am

You could try selling Osc for parts-- I bet he'd be just as fast with only three legs. Or maybe he should try street performing! He already has costumes.


Comments are closed.