“What do you do for a living?” is one of my least favorite questions in the world.  Explaining to someone what a stage manager does is difficult enough; saying that I work for opera companies doesn’t make it any clearer and usually brings the conversation to a halt.  So it’s always awkward, and I kinda think my job is uninteresting to most.  However, I love being wrong.

Yesterday, I accompanied my parents to my dad’s hormone treatment (No, he’s not having a sex change).  It was my first time meeting his medical oncologist, whom my parents are very satisfied with.  Of course, after I introduced myself to the doctor, he asked the dreaded question.

I started off, “I work backstage for opera,” hoping that the conversation will end with, “That’s very interesting.”  However, he beamed with excitement saying he’s an avid opera-goer.  Completely ignoring my father, Dr. Opera began asking questions and talking up a storm.  He wanted to know if I worked with the lights or the scenery, and I then revealed that I’m a stage manager and facilitate all of the backstage operations.  It was comical, and even cute, the way he went on and on telling me about his favorite opera singer (who is from his native country) and that he regularly attends the opera in DC (Washington National Opera).  After a good 8 or 9 minutes, he finally turned back to my father, who although was being extremely proud was thinking, “Hey, I’m the patient here.”
JO-what?!
5/13/2010 12:24:23 pm

F-ing SERIOUSLY. Former Artistic Coordinator, Artistic This, Music That... babysitting singers would be a definitive catch-all to tell people what's what. Greyhound-Dasch battle royale in a couple weeks!

Ann
5/13/2010 02:12:52 pm

Isn't it great coming across someone who actually knows what the heck we do?

What a great story - I'm glad you shared.

6/7/2010 09:11:28 am

OMG I find the surest way to halt a conversation is tell a person I am an a opera director. I don't know if it because I am young(-ish!) or because I am a woman or because most people think opera is some made up activity that they just talk about in cartoons and movies, but folks simply cannot wrap their minds around that job title.
"wow... that sounds so INTERESTING..." (cricket, cricket....)

8/25/2010 05:24:21 pm

When one loves one's art no service seems too hard. (O.Henry, American novelist)


Comments are closed.