Ithaca is Gorges

8/1/2010

 
I recently had a wonderful two-day trip to Ithaca with the fabulous Tulsa Savior.  It was such a great vacation to see my beloved city of higher education.  The lovely Pineapple Painter hosted us, which was especially gracious due to the last minute decision to embark on our adventure.  The Pineapple Painter’s boyfriend also hosted us (He even took Tulsa Savior out on a motorcycle ride).

We did quite a bit considering we were only in Ithaca for about 24 hours.  We arrived around lunch time and started off the trip with an exceptional meal at Moosewood.  Tulsa Savior, being a vegetarian now, really loved the menu and cookbooks.  The food and drinks were fantastic as usual.  After our delicious meal we headed to Taughannock Falls, where we walked the trail to the bottom of the waterfall.  Did I mention the weather was perfect?

Going to a few wineries was on my list of things to see and do.  So we then hit up three different wineries along Cayuga Lake.  Nothing like trying over 15 different Finger Lake wines.  After our little wine trail, we headed to the Commons for dinner.  We started off with a cocktail at Simeons, which brought back some hilarious memories from college (Anybody remember tech of Seussical?).  Dinner was at Taste of Thai with Pineapple Painter and her beau.  Since we’ve been in Cooperstown where the restaurant choices are slim, it was nice to be in Ithaca and have some great ethnic restaurants available.  Loved the pineapple fried rice!

After dinner, we went to Moonshadows, which was a favorite college bar for IC students.  I was floored when we walked in.  They tore down the wall opposite the bar and doubled the size of the room.  The added space was turned into a dance floor and area for a DJ, who kept us dancing all night long, although he mixed music about as well as a blender mixes golf balls.  Tulsa Savior and Pineapple Painter also made some friends on the dance floor, and that kept me entertained the rest of the evening.

After spending the night with our generous friends, we headed to College Town Bagels (of course the one in College Town), and then toured around Cornell for a second and took a look at The Maze, which was my house my senior year of college.  I wasn’t about to visit Ithaca and not at least take a look.  I then selfishly dragged my friends to Ithaca College to visit the Theatre Department.  My mouth just dropped when I saw all of the renovations.  Practically the entire building has been gutted and refurbished:  new classrooms, new offices, 2 new studios, etc.  Those kids are extremely lucky.  It was reminded me of how lucky I was to go to IC.  I wouldn’t be where I am today without that education.

After I spent way too much time inspecting every little detail that had changed in the Dillingham Center, we headed to Wegmans.  Typically a grocery store would not be on a list of hot spots, but let me tell you Wegmans is awesome.  I can’t do it justice.  If you’re near one, go.  After our little excursion to Weggies, we said goodbye to our lovely host and went to Aladdin’s for lunch, another great meal at another great Ithaca treasure.  It was the perfect way to end a lovely vacation.  We had a blast, and I am so happy that we found the time to visit.  Ithaca is Gorges.
Ann
8/1/2010 12:07:47 am

I love going back and revisiting good times. I'm glad you had fun!

Mark
8/4/2010 12:03:22 pm

I miss the wine trail most of all


Comments are closed.