I’m not the oldest or most experienced stage manager, nor am I the youngest.  And as my fabulous friend Little Ms Bossy would say, I’m “pushing” 30 and feeling it.  However, there is one thing I don’t think I’ll ever get over:  I get nervous on day one.  That first day of rehearsal just stresses me out.  And I don’t know why.  It’s usually one of the easiest days.  In the world of opera, we usually have a music rehearsal.  I sit and listen.  DONE!  And yet, there are always butterflies in my stomach.  The feeling I have forgotten something important, that I haven’t checked every minute detail of the rehearsal room is always there.  It’s ridiculous really.  Especially with my current show:  I have 5 singers.  Several of whom I already know, and the rest I’ve heard nothing but glowing reviews (and by reviews I don’t mean the ones that are written in Opera News, but the ones from other SMs and directors).  To me, it’s great to work with an extremely talented singer; however, I just want him/her to be nice and friendly.  Singers can be needy; singers can be forgetful; singers can be self-centered; however, none of that matters if they are cordial.  I don’t care at all.  I love my job.  I love singers.  I already love my current cast.   And I had no reason to be stressed about today, but nevertheless, I was.  Now for a glass of wine or maybe scotch.

Katie K
6/7/2010 01:25:29 pm

Congrats Mr. Big Fancy Stagemanager! You will be great! And i am loving reading your blog!

Ann
6/7/2010 09:48:34 pm

Yay for a good first rehearsal! We've had three so far... well, two really - we'll have the official third today.

Gotta love operas in rep!

NIKI
6/8/2010 09:37:42 am

I think it is precious that you are nervous... of course you would be nervous. You do a great job and you want it all to go perfectly. It will.

Have some great rehearsals to come.

Love ya


Comments are closed.