5 Years

7/24/2010

 
A few weeks ago, Ryan and I celebrated our five year anniversary with a DiGiorno garlic bread pepperoni pizza, crinkle cut french fries with mayonnaise and ketchup, and watching The Silence of the Lambs.  Romantic, right?

In the summer of 2005 at Glimmerglass Opera, we started dating.  We still argue about the exact date.  At one point we even picked a date just to be consistent, but it never truly stuck.  July 1st or 2nd is when we celebrate, which was around the opening of Lucie di Lammermoor that summer.  I think both of us expected a summer fling, actually I know we did because we joke about it, and that’s where The Silence of the Lambs comes into play.

I have never liked scary movies, and I always assumed this was one of the scariest.  It’s not that I’m actually scared.  I like to say that I startle easily.  Exemplified by the time I was seated in a movie theater with about 20 GO production people watching the preview for Snakes on a Plane and screamed at the top of my lungs when the snake jumped out at the audience at the end.  I wasn’t embarrassed at all.  I swear.  

Anyway, our first summer together Ryan wanted to watch The Silence of the Lambs.  I, of course, said no and explained that I never have seen nor want to see that movie.  So Ryan said, “Let’s make a deal:  on our five year anniversary we’ll watch the movie to celebrate.”  I agreed assuming that this fantastic summer fling wouldn’t quite last five years.  Ryan, I’m sure, made that statement with the same thing in mind.

However, here we are, five years later.  We celebrated with a showing of the movie.  Ryan passed out about 15 minutes into the movie.  I barely could keep my eyes open as well, but I finished it.  We were exhausted from work.  Can you believe we’ve lived in 3 states together (NY, MA, & TX), traveled across the US several times, have little Oscar to keep us warm, freelance in over 6 states combined, and have lasted 5 years?

It’s kinda amazing.  I love him.

 

scott ramsay
7/24/2010 04:30:11 am

So freaking cute! Congrats you guys. Thats pretty darn awesome. Looking forward to hearing about what he makes you watch on the 10 year anniversary! May I suggest house of a 1000 corpses?! Big Hugs!

Ann
7/24/2010 11:42:19 am

Happy Anniversary! You're one of my fav couples!

7/24/2010 11:58:12 pm

Yay! I miss you guys!

Dixie
7/26/2010 03:26:37 am

Love this! Congrats :)

Lauren MacLeod
7/26/2010 08:26:59 am

*adores this*

niki
8/12/2010 10:09:34 am

I do believe it was earlier than July 2nd... because steve and I came to visit you guys... we went out to eat somewhere.. and then ryan wrote to us after to tell us you were dating. We were heading to Germany and that was around JULY 5... so

but mostly... I think you guys are great... love and hugs...

Congrats!


Comments are closed.